News on your favorite shows, specials & more!

Profile for ellbellthomps

Member Name: ellbellthomps
Contact User: You must be logged in to contact BWW members.

Most Recent Message Board Posts:

View Off Topic Posts

COVID performance cancellations  Dec 16 2021, 10:54:42 PM

I was at Moulin Rouge tonight. I don't understand why they didnt test earlier, the audience was filled with disappointment. I don't think the sting would've been as bad if the preshow hadn't already begun and the countdown on the conductor tv's were happening. No one had any idea this was happening, and it was quite a trek to get to midtown, sit down at a theater for 10 minutes past curtain and be VERY quickly ushered out. 

FORBES on the bleakness of Broadway box office right now: Some Broadway shows are grossing under $100K per week  Nov 18 2021, 08:38:42 AM

Lot666 said: "Curiously, there's no mention of Phantomin the Forbes piece. Does anyone know how it's doing at this point?"

I'm no expert, but based on this and ticket availability it seems to be doing the same if not a little better than it did before shutdown at the height of the broadway surge in 2017(ish). Lotto also isn't a guarantee that you'll win like it used to be. My guess is that New Yorkers want to come back to a classic. 

MOULIN ROUGE! Reopening Night Thread  Nov 18 2021, 08:33:10 AM

poisonivy2 said: "For those who saw Natalie -- is she so outstanding that I have to make a return trip just to see her?"

She's good, I didn't think she was outstanding at all, though. Of the 3 I've seen (Karen, Natalie, Ashley), Ashley Loren was by far my favorite. I did see Natalie literally 5 days after opening, but she shifted between accents the entire time. 

If you already want to go back to see the show, then go! If you're only going

FORBES on the bleakness of Broadway box office right now: Some Broadway shows are grossing under $100K per week  Nov 18 2021, 08:24:10 AM