News on your favorite shows, specials & more!

Profile for Gypsy9

Gypsy9 Profile Photo
Member Name: Gypsy9
Contact User: You must be logged in to contact BWW members.
Profile: I am a retired special ed teacher from the NYC area. I have been a fan of Broadway shows since I saw the Mary Martin PETER PAN at the Winter Garden. I have an excellent collection of Broadway cast albums and GYPSY memorabilia, including a signed engraving of the Hirschfeld drawing of the main 1959 players in GYPSY.

Most Recent Message Board Posts:

View Off Topic Posts

Prettiest/Ugliest Broadway theaters  Jun 28 2012, 08:48:55 AM
I think that the ANTA theatre, which I had mentioned in an earlier post, became the VIRGINIA, before it became the AUGUST WILSON. It was while it was the VIRGINIA that it was an ugly black box, where JELLY'S LAST JAM played. I have not been back there, but am glad that as the AUGUST WILSON it has been spruced up. I very much care what a theatre looks like, both exterior but mainly interior. It is fitting that the beautiful WINTER GARDEN was the site of my first Broadway show: the Mary Martin PET
Any talk of a “Sunshine Boys” transfer?  Jun 26 2012, 02:29:09 PM
The SUNSHINE BOYS is one of my favorite plays. I saw Jack Klugman and Tony Randall give terrific performances at the Lyceum many years ago. The film with George Burns and Walter Mathau is excellent, also. I would love to see a transfer from London. I think it would be very popular over here.

Which recent shows do you think will eventually get revivals?  Jun 24 2012, 08:34:42 AM
I saw the original production of THE SOUND OF MUSIC in 1960. I went to the theatre with misgivings, but ended up loving the musical. It has a very strong book and, except for the cloying "Do Re Mi" has an excellent score. But why change the orchestrations? With the right cast, including the 2nd leads, it could be a hit again. When was it last revived?
Prettiest/Ugliest Broadway theaters  Jun 24 2012, 08:13:33 AM