Question about traveling to NYC

Techieboi
#0Question about traveling to NYC
Posted: 7/13/04 at 11:37am

Hi! Ive never actually planned a trip to NY by myself, and I was wondering what is the best way to get to the "theatre area" of NYC? If your nice enough to help, start with the best airport to use! (because Im coming from ATL)

Bill63
#1re: Question about traveling to NYC
Posted: 7/13/04 at 12:16pm

Newark, NJ Libery Airport is quite convenient. You can take the AirTran (monorail) from the Airport to the Newark Airport Train Station. Then catch the NJ Transit train to NYC Penn Station. From there you can take the subway or cab to the Theater District. AirTran is Free. NJ Transit is $11.55 one-way. NJ Transit Trains to NYC come by the Airport station roughly twice an hour from 5:00am to 1:00am. I have no experience with Kennedy or LaGuaridia Airport.

BlueWizard Profile Photo
BlueWizard
#2re: Question about traveling to NYC
Posted: 7/13/04 at 12:55pm

I've travelled to New York alone several times from different airports, and I like LaGuardia the best. Newark costs more and doesn't offer an interesting ride. It would be around $20 round-trip if you take Newark, and it's a pretty ugly voyage to Manhattan.

LaGuardia, on the other hand, is cheap (you can take MTA, rather than New Jersey transit), fast, and you get a nice subway voyage through Queens on the 7 train. If you get a Metrocard for your stay in NYC, your LaGuardia-roundtrip could cost as little as $5.

From LaGuardia airport, take the M60 bus to Astoria Boulevard in Queens. Get off here (and you might want to explore Astoria, it's fabulous), climb up to the subway line above the street, and take the 7 train downtown to Times Square. Then you get to watch Queens roll past you while on the subway!

BlueWizard's blog: The Rambling Corner HEDWIG: "The road is my home. In reflecting upon the people whom I have come upon in my travels, I cannot help but think of the people who have come upon me."

marlomanners