News on your favorite shows, specials & more!

Profile for emg_sound

Member Name: emg_sound
Contact User: You must be logged in to contact BWW members.

Most Recent Message Board Posts:

View Off Topic Posts

Amelie at the Ahmanson
 Dec 11 2016, 05:50:07 PM

I saw it last night and left rather annoyed that I had spent an evening viewing some rather beige art.  

Now, I feel that everything (performers, technical elements, etc.) was serviceable and technically well executed, but it was all in service to a misguided book and direction which castrated the source material and made it remarkably bland.

While I understand that I'm watching a musical rather than the iconic film, (with Jeunet's signature inventive quirkiness)&nb

Breaking News: Tonys Change Rules for Revival Authors, Erases 2 Creative Categories...
 Jun 12 2014, 01:12:00 AM
As a sound designer, I am mad as hell about this. The problem is between the opinions on various message boards (much more ATC than here), and even an analysis of previous winners, a lack of understanding of what we do (at least in plays) has been perpetually reinforced, making such an announcement not entirely unsurprising. For the record, I prefer to work much more in Plays rather than musicals, so the following rant comes from a very specific place!

More than any other design eleme

Here Lies Love to Transfer To Broadway But Only If...
 May 3 2013, 01:59:43 PM
Having seen it, I completely understand why that is the only space on Broadway where this could feasibly work (although I'd still wish for it to go into Studio 54 in some sort of modified form).
The Circle in the Square is perhaps the quirkiest space on broadway, but able to keep the audience size manageable. I'd think the most important thing would be to keep a slightly non-traditional schedule (late night shows on Saturday, for instance)...
Here's hoping! (Fingers crossed!)

HERE LIES LOVE Previews
 Apr 4 2013, 01:27:03 AM