pixeltracker

Do You Notice Sound In A Musical Theatre Environment? A few questions for my Dissertation!

Do You Notice Sound In A Musical Theatre Environment? A few questions for my Dissertation!

soundtheatre
#1Do You Notice Sound In A Musical Theatre Environment? A few questions for my Dissertation!
Posted: 9/14/11 at 7:49pm

Hi,

I am currently in my 3rd year at university studying Sound and am starting to collect data that I can then put into my Dissertation.

I am exploring the importance of Sound Design and whether Musical Theatre goers notice Sound in the same way as visual elements may be noticed.

Please could you take a few minutes to answer a few questions.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/KT2DX2H

Thank You in advance,

x

trentsketch Profile Photo
trentsketch
#2Do You Notice Sound In A Musical Theatre Environment? A few questions for my Dissertation!
Posted: 9/14/11 at 7:54pm

Your fifth question is a bit strange. Having clear sound does not exclude a show from using stylized sound effects. Also, saying clear dialog, lyrics, and orchestra is "cinematic" is rather misleading. When I hear cinematic, I think explosions and overly stylized mixing. Then your second choice is stylistic, which brings me right back to the film concept in my head. Maybe I'm overthinking it.

I think "naturalistic" and "stylistic" might be better categorizations, but that's just me.

soundtheatre
#2Do You Notice Sound In A Musical Theatre Environment? A few questions for my Dissertation!
Posted: 9/14/11 at 8:11pm

When I say Cinematic, I am talking about using surround sound and having a very polished mix. Almost perfection.

Stylistic is more, I would say, conceptual. For example, the Storm Scene in King Lear at the Donmar. It was portrayed the storm inside Lear's head rather than the physical storm that was actually happening.

I see where you are coming from, but I believe, that cinematic comes under the sub-heading naturalistic.

B3TA07 Profile Photo
B3TA07