News on your favorite shows, specials & more!

Profile for Edna Turnblad

Edna Turnblad Profile Photo
Member Name: Edna Turnblad
Contact User: You must be logged in to contact BWW members.

Most Recent Message Board Posts:

View Off Topic Posts

The Sound of Music 50th Anniversary Theatrical Re-release
 Apr 20 2015, 05:28:41 PM

Michelle, I think the big difference with Merrily and this is that this is a TCM affair, so the presentation is probably different. I went to Gone With the Wind, las year, and then this. Robert Osborne introduces the film just like he does on TV, and then the film goes as normal.

My only issue was that they included the Intermission title card and the Entr'acte, but it only lasted a few minutes. Half the theater was empty through the first scene because so m

Musicals in Christian Colleges
 Jan 13 2015, 08:55:25 PM
I'm currently a student at a pretty conservative Christian college. The main productions are usually plays, but they once did ONCE ON THIS ISLAND with an almost entirely white cast. They put on INTO THE WOODS last year, and maybe a one or two performance run of THE LAST 5 YEARS. A few years ago, one of the student directors did CRIMES OF THE HEART and apparently got into trouble from the Board of Trustees.
What's more interesting is that every year, the sophomore class does their own product

Who wants to work for a 6 Time Tony Nominee
 Nov 14 2014, 08:49:55 AM
When I read the line about settling her into a dressing room, I imagined carrying her through the doorway, cradled in my arms, and placing her gently in an artfully placed settee
Show Boat at Avery Fisher Hall
 Nov 6 2014, 11:23:29 PM
When, I think, Playbill posted video of the concert in rehearsal, I got really excited about this. Everyone seemed at least competent...except Fred Willard. He looked stiff and awkward and barely even phoning it in. At least his performance is consistent?