News on your favorite shows, specials & more!

Profile for Eagleman

Member Name: Eagleman
Contact User: You must be logged in to contact BWW members.

Most Recent Message Board Posts:

View Off Topic Posts

War Horse
 Apr 23 2011, 03:01:40 AM
Great points.

I was a fighter pilot and while I never experienced anything close to the unimaginable brutality of ground war in the great wars, the memories of my more harrowing experiences are not very linear.

I spoke to one or two guys who saw the first Persian Gulf war from the ground and there is really no way to dramatize it. Has any drama REALLY been written that can approximate the emotional devastation of, let's say, having one's child murdered? Of course, not, the th

NY Times Arts Beat today - Are Musicals losing their voices?
 Apr 23 2011, 02:47:57 AM
People can deny it but the theater is definitely moving or has moved in the direction of the "little voice". This is a trend that seemed to start with Ed McMann's "Star Search" (according to a voice teacher whose name escapes me). Audiences loves the high c that ricochets off the back wall of the upper mezzanine (with a big assist from amplification) and "American Idol" and its many variations abroad, I should say its audiences, reward "little voices" that can pull off the trick.

The te

Robert Guillaume (Benson) as The Phantom?
 Apr 23 2011, 02:24:33 AM
Just as a matter of curiosity, how many different actors have you seen play the Phantom--and where did you see them?
WAR HORSE Reviews
 Apr 23 2011, 02:17:43 AM
Well stated.

Anyone who hears about the show and believes the draw is a Tom-Stoppard-tight drama is going to be sorely disappointed. I've never heard a single rep from the National tout the writing above the puppetry.

Second, I can't imagine any one believing for a second the stage can come close capturing the horrors of war--it's even elusive on the screen.