pixeltracker

classical VS. belty style (for auditions) PLEASE help!

classical VS. belty style (for auditions) PLEASE help!

wickedbway Profile Photo
wickedbway
#0classical VS. belty style (for auditions) PLEASE help!
Posted: 6/17/06 at 11:24pm

Sorry for not putting this on student board, I just tend to get a lot more responses/more experienced opinions on this one. And I know its kind of similar to another message, but again - more responses. etc.

Anyways, I've been working with a classical voice teacher for a few years doing choir stuff and now opera type vocal training. Its been really good because my teachers have been awesome about the health of my voice. The problem is that I've been auditioning and getting into shows through belting (in past auditions ive done "A Change in Me", "I Get a Kick out of You", "My New Philosophy" and "I Won't Say I'm in Love"). I got a really good role this year too (the voice of Audrey II) and the part was all really high belting and rocking out/ soulful singing.

NONE of that has been the type of stuff I've been doing in voice lessons. My teachers aren't concerned with the health of my voice because I've bridged a few of the techniques over, but there's still a great difference between the classical and the strong belty stuff.

When I start auditioning for colleges, I want to have one solid, stong voice. I won't know which "voice" to sing in, because both are strong in their own ways. There's too much of a difference between the two sounds. In terms of auditioning for colleges and making an impression, does anyone have any advice??

Thanks

colleen_lee
#1re: classical VS. belty style (for auditions) PLEASE help!
Posted: 6/17/06 at 11:29pm

Most schools are going to require more than one audition piece, so do one of each. There is nothing wrong with having more than one style, it demonstrates versatility. (i.e. Kelli O'Hara who went from very legit soprano for Piazza to a sultry mezzo/belt in Pajama Game)