News on your favorite shows, specials & more!

Profile for BentleyB

Member Name: BentleyB
Contact User: You must be logged in to contact BWW members.

Most Recent Message Board Posts:

View Off Topic Posts

The cost of performing on the Tony Awards?
 Jun 6 2024, 04:53:42 PM

JSquared2 said: "BentleyB said: "I don’t know the costs, but most of the sets for the Tony Awards are projections with a few set pieces recreated.

That is 100% false. Also, the OP requested actual knowledge -- not conjecture.
"

Ummm..sorry, but it is not false.  Look at the taped version of “Hadestown” performed at the Tony’s.  Projections in the back and some platforms the musicians sat on. &

Why Aren't Theatre History Classes Mandatory for High Schools?
 Jun 6 2024, 04:35:50 PM

I have a theater degree and did not have any history of the theater until I had to take an incredibly hard class in college.  I think it is the only class that I ever studied for and remember staying up all night to make sure I got an A on the final.  That said, the college did offer a theater appreciation class as a general elective.  Many non-theater people took the class as an easy “A” but found out it was a really difficult class to even get a B in.  Eventu

Performances at the 2024 Tony Awards
 Jun 6 2024, 04:04:14 PM

Let’s bet that Pete Townshend shows up on stage for Tommy’s performance to give the impression he is in the show.   

The cost of performing on the Tony Awards?
 Jun 6 2024, 03:55:24 PM

I don’t know the costs, but most of the sets for the Tony Awards are projections with a few set pieces recreated.  The last time we went to the show in 2019, The only set piece brought on for “The Prom” was a very scaled down version of the bedroom and “Hadestown” had no set pieces, but the lights and a few platforms and to me didn’t resemble or represent the show at all. 

BEN PLATT: LIVE AT THE PALACE Thread
 May 29 2024, 10:23:33 PM