News on your favorite shows, specials & more!

Patti LuPone on Ethel Merman

zamedy
#1Patti LuPone on Ethel Merman
Posted: 1/31/11 at 9:28pm

I was just watching a clip from the '87 Tony Awards of Patti singing her pants off in "Anthing Goes" (what a score!) performing another role that the Merm made famous. I'm not an expert on this subject, but I know Patti has followed in her footsteps and played a number of iconic roles originated by Merm (Annie Oakley, Mamma Rose). And, inevitably, she is constantly compared to the 'original Queen of Broadway.' I'm just wondering... does anyone know if the two ever met or crossed paths before Merman's death in 1984? Has LuPone ever mentioned in interviews if she admired/looked up to her? I'm always interested in what two legends of the same genre think of one another.

aasjb4ever Profile Photo
aasjb4ever
#2Patti LuPone on Ethel Merman
Posted: 1/31/11 at 9:29pm

Yes. Read/ Listen to her book.

And the thread title sounds extremely hawt.

Musicaldudepeter
#2Patti LuPone on Ethel Merman
Posted: 2/1/11 at 6:37am