pixeltracker

Question - New to the World of the Working Actor

Question - New to the World of the Working Actor

funnyman2
#1Question - New to the World of the Working Actor
Posted: 10/29/13 at 12:15pm

Hey everyone, I'm just starting out as a working (theatre) actor, freshly moved to Toronto, and I had a question. As is the usual case I'm applying to joe jobs (retail) between acting gigs. My work history has been a bit sparse as I've been busy with finishing school. However I do have paid theatre jobs under my belt. Particularly I did successive shows with the same company which constitute a significant amount of time. Is putting this theatre experience on a work resume an acceptable thing? I'm considering it because it does fill in the gaps, although I could understand if someone were confused to see my tenure at a theatre company amidst desk jobs. Apologies if this question seems idiotic, like I said I'm kind of new to all this, thanks in advance!

givesmevoice Profile Photo
givesmevoice
#2Question - New to the World of the Working Actor
Posted: 10/29/13 at 12:24pm

I've never been in this situation personally, but I would recommend putting it on your resume, but in a section separate from other work history. But someone here might have another suggestion.

When I see the phrase "the ____ estate", I imagine a vast mansion in the country full of monocled men and high-collared women receiving letters about productions across the country and doing spit-takes at whatever they contain. -Kad

funnyman2
#2Question - New to the World of the Working Actor
Posted: 10/30/13 at 12:06am

Thanks for the input, givesmevoice. Anyone else with similar experience have a say?

Jay Lerner-Z Profile Photo
Jay Lerner-Z
#3Question - New to the World of the Working Actor
Posted: 10/30/13 at 12:15am

Never leave gaps on a resume.

Beyoncé is not an ally. Actions speak louder than words, Mrs. Carter. #Dubai #$$$

someone.else's.story2 Profile Photo
someone.else's.story2