pixeltracker

Legally Blonde Tour St. Louis 1/30

Legally Blonde Tour St. Louis 1/30

ggersten Profile Photo
ggersten
#1Legally Blonde Tour St. Louis 1/30
Posted: 2/1/09 at 2:54pm

We (me, wife, 14 year old daughter, 7 year old daughter, my dad and his wife) had mezzanine seats for the Friday night 1/30 show in St. Louis. According to the message board and insert, they brought in a new person, someone named Laura Bell Bundy, played Elle. (Cue screams from my daughters).

Lots of teenage girls in the audience. At intermission, several (10?) started chanting. "We got pink, yes we do. We got pink, how 'bout you."

We enjoyed the show. Although, now that I've seen it live as opposed to on MTV, I can see how the show doesn't work at all times. The non-musical "comedy" isn't very funny for quite a bit. (And as a lawyer, I still wince at its representations of law school and firms and the errors in all of it). The audience seemed very dead during Act I. But the audience really got into it in Act II beginning when Ven Daniel strutted across the stage as Kyle. Accordingly, Bend and Snap was probably the best received number, although the Irish line dance in Legally Blonde Remix got a lot of reaction as well. Then again, the Fox theatre seats, I think, 4000 people, and was probably 75% full. (The side balconies were empty behind us).

I missed the magic rope in Whipped into Shape, but still so admire the talent of the dancers in it. Brooke was performed by, I believe, Leslie McDonel. Colleen Sexton was out. Leslie was good in her drama/comedy scenes. Her singing was too soft.

Natalie Joy Johnson was a joy as Paulette. I never really liked the Ireland number until this performance. It's hard to match up this performance with her Enid! Amazing that they are the same person.

Ken Land as Callahan was pretty good. He seemed slimy from the beginning, but Blood in the Water still is not as good a number as it should have been (and that goes back to the music/lyrics).