News on your favorite shows, specials & more!

Profile for beingalive123

Member Name: beingalive123
Contact User: You must be logged in to contact BWW members.

Most Recent Message Board Posts:

View Off Topic Posts

From Broadway to Opera and back again..
 Jan 14 2013, 01:29:59 AM
I'm a freshman vocal performance major at Indiana University, and this thread makes me very happy. It's good to see new fans of opera and people understanding the thrills that it brings.

I think the big stereotype that opera gets slapped that it needs to get past is that it is a dead, irrelevant art that no one follows. The opposite is true. Opera, while it has its ups and downs, is still an art form that is doing quite well, albeit it is now at an interesting point in its existenc

re: The Official 'Bad High School Productions on YouTube' Megathread
 Sep 13 2011, 07:35:03 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EK55gnB_gLU

I feel like this was so close to being good. High School production of les mis.

How'd You Get Into Theatre?
 Aug 14 2011, 03:21:26 PM
I had been singing since I was three, and my parents all the way through my childhood tried to get me involved in musicals. At the time, I had no interest, my focus was on sports. A cycle of my parents telling me about a show I could audition for and me refusing went on until I was twelve, when my parents finally forced me to audition for our middle school's production of Honk Jr. I was cast as the lead and the rest is history I suppose.
Porgy and Bess- Operatic, or otherwise?
 Aug 14 2011, 03:13:24 PM
I don't know if its as simple as not "pingeonholng" people to a certain genre, but I do agree that if they do have the appropriate technique to sing in a different genre of music, why stop them. With that said, I never want to see Raul Esparza sing Rodolfo or Marcelo Alvarez play Bobby.
generic what should i see thread
 Jun 2 2011, 08:38:51 AM