News on your favorite shows, specials & more!
pixeltracker

Casting director questions, help?

Casting director questions, help?

Ellski Profile Photo
Ellski
#1Casting director questions, help?
Posted: 3/27/11 at 12:02am

So I'm a sophomore in high school and I've been interested in theatre and have wanted to be an actress my whole life. Just recently, though I've tried to start looking into other aspects of theatre besides just acting, considering it's so hard to get a job as an actor. Recently I've thought about being a casting director, but I don't know exactly what a casting director does, just the general idea. So my question is, 1. What exactly does being a casting director entail, 2. What kind of steps do you need to take to be one, and would majoring in theatre (B.A) be helpful, and 3. How competitive is it? How easy or hard is it to get a job.
Thank you!

CapnHook Profile Photo
CapnHook
#2Casting director questions, help?
Posted: 3/27/11 at 12:25am

It's an even harder job to get.

Think about it this way: let's say for argument's sake that there are 30 new Broadway shows (plays and musicals) next season. Also for argument's sake, let's say that there are 4 major casting directors that generally cast all productions for Broadway. Finally, for argument's sake, let's say that the average cast size is 10 actors.

Do the math. That means 4 casting directors need to hire 300 actors.

You tell me which job is easier to get: an actor or a casting director?

The one advantage is that there are less people trying to get that casting director job than there is getting those acting jobs.

So here is my advice: