Cafe Carlyle Questions

broadway_show_fan Profile Photo
broadway_show_fan
#1Cafe Carlyle Questions
Posted: 6/28/12 at 2:25pm

I'm going to Laura Osnes' show tonight. It's my first time at the venue and had a few questions.

• What do you typically wear? Is a deep purple cocktail dress with a rhinestone neckline too fancy/formal or appropriate? If it's too formal, what do you suggest? Tailored tan or black khaki-type pants? Floral skirt? I am limited in my ideas and options, kind of suck a putting together nicer outfits, and hate stressing over what to wear.

• Are all the seats/tables good views? I've heard it's really not a large venue, but I am very short and wondered if anyone has had any problems with seeing/sightlines.

• How long does the show go? If you haven't been to Laura Osnes' show in particular, an educated guess is still appreciated.

Thanks for any replies!

Lefou Profile Photo
Lefou
#2Cafe Carlyle Questions
Posted: 6/28/12 at 2:32pm

Men are required to wear jackets, so I would think a cocktail dress (or any of the other outfits) is very appropriate (you will see people severely under dressed and over dressed). So don't stress about the attire too much.

Have you called to make a reservation? If so, I would do so, especially since Jeremy Jordan is there tonight, so it's going to be a hot ticket. They do dinner seatings every half hour from 6:30-7:30. But you are not requrired to attend for dinner (there is a cover charge, but no minimum for food/drink).

All seats are not equal, but she works the room very nicely so there isn't a true BAD seat.

The show runs for about an hour an 10 minutes.

PalJoey Profile Photo
PalJoey
#2Cafe Carlyle Questions
Posted: 6/28/12 at 2:55pm

You can also sit at the bar, which has great sightlines.

It's a pretty expensive proposition, but it's one of the coolest old-school places in New York, and well worth the splurge. You'll probably remember the evening for a very long time.