pixeltracker

Chess (Too Quiet) / Two Strangers

Chess (Too Quiet) / Two Strangers

OuttaTowner
#1Chess (Too Quiet) / Two Strangers
Posted: 1/2/24 at 9:29am

A couple of random Q’s to start 2024:

1) Has anyone heard anything about the once-rumored revival of Chess?  Last year, many were all but certain we’d see it with Lea, but since that is unlikely, is the project DOA?

2) More raves from colleagues in the UK about the two-hander, Two Strangers Carry A Cake Across New York.  I see us sold out for the remainder of its run. Any chance we’ll see that here (perhaps at an off-Broadway house)?  I’ve heard that the leads are terrific; however, at least 2 folks have said to me that it’s “too British” to play here. 

chrishuyen
#2Chess (Too Quiet) / Two Strangers
Posted: 1/2/24 at 11:12am

At least for Chess, it seems it's not going through right now as Lea seems to be involved in a personal project and they might wait for her to do it later.  I have no inside knowledge, but that's what I've gleaned from what's been said on this board.

OuttaTowner
#3Chess (Too Quiet) / Two Strangers
Posted: 1/2/24 at 3:23pm

I guess producers didn’t have a “plan B,” though I personally can’t think of many bankable names that they could slot in (unless of course Gaga was interested! 😆)

mshalo18
#4Chess (Too Quiet) / Two Strangers
Posted: 1/2/24 at 3:30pm

Supposedly, it’s still in the works with Jessica Vosk, Lea, and Ramin Karimloo. But who really knows. 

Jordan Catalano Profile Photo
Jordan Catalano
#5Chess (Too Quiet) / Two Strangers
Posted: 1/2/24 at 5:09pm

Oh, I loved "Two Strangers". Watching it, I thought how well it could do in NY so I'd love for it to open off-broadway somewhere. And it's not "too British" at all. 

OuttaTowner
#6Chess (Too Quiet) / Two Strangers
Posted: 1/3/24 at 3:47am

Thanks Jordan. I hear great things about Tutty. Maybe they could christen the new theater in the old Limelight space with this one! 😆

Owen22
#7Chess (Too Quiet) / Two Strangers