The Laramie Project

Techieboi
#0The Laramie Project
Posted: 4/5/04 at 11:00pm

I was wondering if anyone on the site has seen, The Laramie Project. I am currently working on a lighting desing for it for a class project, and if anyone has any advice/comments/suggestions let me know.

MyNameInLights Profile Photo
MyNameInLights
#1re: The Laramie Project
Posted: 4/5/04 at 11:19pm

My school is getting ready to do the show right now. I haven't seen it on the stage, but I have read the play and seen the movie.

"The stage is where I live and come alive and act out all the things that go on in my life. It's not just what I do for a living, it's my shrink and my love affair. No one in my life has ever or ever will kiss me on the mouth like this lover called my relationship with my performance."

FindingNamo
#2re: The Laramie Project
Posted: 4/5/04 at 11:20pm

I saw the original cast and then later I saw a community theater production of it that was suprisingly effective. The first time I saw it I really wasn't thrilled with the first two acts, I kept thinking they were going to do exactly what the story didn't call for, which was to make a martyr (and a saint) out of Matthew Shepard. But then, the third act suprised me when it actually did not do that. And that is how I learned to love The Laramie Project. When I saw the community production I was interested if it wouldn't work without the original people from Tectonic who did the interviewing in Laramie. But it worked very well.

A scrim with a slide of an impossibly blue sky over a low, distant horizon is a very effective mood setter.

Twitter @NamoInExile Instagram none

broadway86 Profile Photo
broadway86
#3re: re: The Laramie Project
Posted: 4/5/04 at 11:34pm

How funny is this? I just finished watching the movie. It was amazing.

FindingNamo
#4re: re: re: The Laramie Project
Posted: 4/5/04 at 11:45pm

And only about half as long as the stage show.

Dollypop
#5re: re: re: re: The Laramie Project