News on your favorite shows, specials & more!

Profile for SoCalDirector

Member Name: SoCalDirector
Contact User: You must be logged in to contact BWW members.
Profile: I am no longer on the West Coast or a director. I am now retired from my long time career as a director and acting teacher. I am now an East Coast writer. BW doesn't allow you to change your name but here I am. While I don't love the cold and snow I do love being near Broadway when it reopens.

Most Recent Message Board Posts:

View Off Topic Posts

Boy George in MR  Feb 7 2024, 01:49:45 PM

oh, really? I just read Charles Busch’s  autobiography, Leading Lady.  He wrote the book for Taboo.   He paints a much different portrait.  I’m not going to repeat what he said here, but buy the book.  I will say that he found the entire experience traumatic, and would never do another musical.

HERE LIES LOVE closing November 26  Nov 7 2023, 04:40:00 PM

When I saw Here Lies Love and notice the extensive renovations for the theater. I was thinking if this doesn’t last, this would be a great place to modify for Cabaret.

& Juliet Lottery  Aug 7 2023, 01:46:41 PM

I wanna lottery seat which was front row but all the way on the side. Because I had already seen the show, I didn’t feel I was missing anything that I didn’t know what was happening.
At different parts of the show Stark Sands and Ben Jackson Walker were just a few feet from me.

RIP to Carlin Glynn, Tony winning star of BEST LITTLE WHOREHOUSE... (and mom of Mary Stuart Masterson)  Jul 21 2023, 01:01:55 PM

https://lasttimeisawdotcom.wordpress.com/2015/08/22/thetriptobountiful1985/

Carlin also played Geraldine Page's overbearing daughter in law in the Oscar Winning A Trip to Bountiful directed by her husband Peter Masterson.

Something I didn't know until today is that Carlin went to high school with Tommy Tune who co-directed with Peter and that they all knew the songwriter Carol Hall from a theatre in Texas (I believe.)