Question about Stage Managers

BwayLeadman
#0Question about Stage Managers
Posted: 4/26/05 at 1:23am

I know this may seem as a weird question, but I just had to ask.
Today reading a guide for stage managers, i've noticed that writer only used "she" "her" when refering to a Stage Manager's job. I also noticed that as long as I can remember, all the stage managers I've had were all woman.
So my question is, is there more or all woman as stage managers?

Thenardier Profile Photo
Thenardier
IMsooHyprToday Profile Photo
IMsooHyprToday
#2re: Question about Stage Managers
Posted: 4/26/05 at 1:31am

i am a stage manager, and i am a male. I think there are more women stage managers just because there are more women involved in theatre in general.

TheatreSM
#3re: Question about Stage Managers
Posted: 4/26/05 at 1:31am

Speaking as a male Equity stage manager, i just thought back through my entire 20 year resume and i have worked with a lot of stage management staffs, and in total i think they have been an equal number of male and female SMs. I once thought that more of the male stage managers were gay males, but i think that may have been wishful thinking on my part because that appears to be equally split, as well.

IMsooHyprToday
#4re: Question about Stage Managers
Posted: 4/26/05 at 1:38am

^ nice to hear from a professional.

manders Profile Photo
manders
#5re: Question about Stage Managers
Posted: 4/26/05 at 1:40am

How does one become a SM?

But the secret ingredient is love. Dammit.

TheatreSM
#6re: Question about Stage Managers
Posted: 4/26/05 at 1:40am