ReederWI Profile Photo
ReederWI
#0Tips on Memorizing a lot of Dialogue in a Play
Posted: 7/26/05 at 7:41am

I was wondering if any of you have any tips on the best ways to remember a lot of dialogue/lines in a play. What things work best for you?

TabooPhan1 Profile Photo
TabooPhan1
#1re: Tips on Memorizing a lot of Dialogue in a Play
Posted: 7/26/05 at 8:03am

What's really worked for me, is kind of breaking the play up into sections. After that, once you start learning the blocking this will also help it just fall into place in your head. Really just be aware of what's going on around you while you're on stage and think of it as a natural dialogue. Where would the conversation go next? This technique doesn't always help, but it usually works for me. Once you're comfortable with the character and a little less intimidated by everything, things will just fall into place.

I hold a degree in Musical Theatre from Montclair State University. It is useless. Now I'm funny for money. Oh, and I sing.

QueenS
#2re: Tips on Memorizing a lot of Dialogue in a Play
Posted: 7/26/05 at 8:56am

As soon as I can get my hands on a copy of the script (before rehearsals start, preferably) I start just reading the play over and over again. The first 15-20 times, I'll read the whole thing (all scenes), after that, I'll pretty much just read my scenes, about another 30-50 times or so.

By the time you start "memorizing" the lines, you will discover that you know most of them. By reading it so many times, subconsiously, you are getting the character's rhythms and way of speaking into your head. Then when it comes time to speak, what feels like the most natural thing is probably the right one.

This doesn't work as well for long speeches. In those cases I try to break down the story or arc of the monologue into smaller sections, then work first on knowing the story. The exact wording will take extra effort, but knowing what you're saying (as obvious as it sounds) will get you really far.