pixeltracker

What does it mean to "sell out"?

What does it mean to "sell out"?

gertiecummings Profile Photo
gertiecummings
#1What does it mean to "sell out"?
Posted: 11/29/07 at 3:04am

I've been thinking about this a lot since I graduated from college. I've been trying to figure out what I want as an actor and as an artist. I know I don't want to be a sell-out, but I can figure out exactly what that means. What makes an actor a sell out? Doing a big-budget jukebox musical (not a lot of social meaning)? Having your own clothing line? Becoming a spokeperson for Mastercard or some other product?

What do you all think?

LimelightMike Profile Photo
LimelightMike
#2re: What does it mean to 'sell out'?
Posted: 11/29/07 at 3:18am

When I think of sell-outs, I can't pinpoint any one in particular because a lot of the time, the term is tossed around all too much (especially nowadays). I personally feel that 'selling-out' is when one goes against his principles, gives into full-on temptation out of greed, lust, or 'quick 'n' easy' satisfaction. As an actor, I believe that if you were to grow and prosper with a certain bunch of 'homegrown talents' (like I did), and you reach great successes elsewhere (like I'm striving to do), you'll always, always, always remain true to your home, to the 'place that made you' who and what you are. I guess, what I'm trying to say is - It's open to inerpretation. Haha! Sorry for wasting your time.

mateo Profile Photo
mateo
#2re: What does it mean to 'sell out'?
Posted: 11/29/07 at 3:28am

Even if one feels they have stayed true to their morals and upbringing, I believe no matter what, every one who achieves a degree of success will be called a Sell-Out by someone they know.

I think it's unavoidable.

"Zac is sweet as can be. He's very much just a sweet kid from California who happens to have a face that looks like it was drawn by Michelangelo, (if Michelangelo did anime)."
-Adam Shankman.

"I haven't left this building since Windows 3.1!"