pixeltracker

Opinions on "All Black" Versions of "White" Shows

Opinions on "All Black" Versions of "White" Shows

allant
#1Opinions on "All Black" Versions of "White" Shows
Posted: 4/26/12 at 2:30am

Board readers - I'd be curious to know your take on "All Black" casts for traditionally "White" shows. Case in point, the all-black version of "Cat On A Hot Tin Roof". Now, before anyone DARES to raise up the "racist" card, I am not. I would be equally offended with an "All White" version of "The Color Purple". I wonder what Tennessee Williams would have said about that take on his play?

All the best!

Idiot Profile Photo
Idiot
#2Opinions on
Posted: 4/26/12 at 2:53am

My opinion is that though most of the time race matters in a story, on occasion it does not. Where GOD OF CARNAGE could, in my opinion, play in any race or combinations of races, RAISIN IN THE SUN could not unless it was severely transposed to fit the concept.

As a writer, I believe that race has everything to do with who your characters are because their lives before we meet them is the very stuff they're made of. Races have cultures and, as I've said before, I don't agree that 'we're all the same'. We clearly aren't. It's true in life, so it's true in most plays.

I don't know anyone who could honestly say that their race is unimportant in the story of how they came to be who they are.

tazber Profile Photo
tazber
#2Opinions on
Posted: 4/26/12 at 6:04am

These threads never go well.

allant, if you do a search you'll find a wealth of threads discussing race and theater on this board. You'll need to weed out some of the more outrageous posts, but there are some astute comments and varying points of view that are worth reading.

....but the world goes 'round

Patash Profile Photo
Patash
#3Opinions on
Posted: 4/26/12 at 8:40am