pixeltracker

Has anyone tried a YOU CAN'T TAKE IT WITH YOU musical?

Has anyone tried a YOU CAN'T TAKE IT WITH YOU musical?

Alex Kulak2
#1Has anyone tried a YOU CAN'T TAKE IT WITH YOU musical?
Posted: 7/12/19 at 3:10pm

I'm an aspiring musical theatre writer, and I'm looking at the challenge Oscar Hammerstein II gave to Sondheim: write four musicals based on 1) a great play, 2) a flawed play, 3) another form, like a novel or short story, and 4) an original concept. The "great play" that immediately came to mind is Kaufman and Hart's YOU CAN'T TAKE IT WITH YOU. On one hand, I love the script. It's a classic situational comedy with unique characters and tons of opportunities for musical numbers. But on the other hand, I thought that as classic and as popular as the play is, there must already be an adaptation of it. So you can imagine my surprise when I can't find any information about a musical based on YOU CAN'T TAKE IT WITH YOU anywhere on the internet.

Has anyone heard of someone trying to adapt the play? Do the Kaufman and Hart estates not want their work translated to the musical form? Is it perhaps the show is already too close to perfect that an attempt to "improve" it with songs would be futile?

Kad Profile Photo
Kad
#2Has anyone tried a YOU CAN'T TAKE IT WITH YOU musical?
Posted: 7/12/19 at 3:37pm

The broad strokes of the plot were basically cribbed for The Addams Family. 

"...everyone finally shut up, and the audience could enjoy the beginning of the Anatevka Pogram in peace."

Pashacar
#3Has anyone tried a YOU CAN'T TAKE IT WITH YOU musical?
Posted: 7/12/19 at 3:42pm

Have never heard of anything either, but agree it's a good idea!

Hot Pants Profile Photo
Hot Pants
#4Has anyone tried a YOU CAN'T TAKE IT WITH YOU musical?
Posted: 7/12/19 at 3:44pm

As long as you can make it better than Addams Family, I say go for it

joevitus Profile Photo
joevitus
#5Has anyone tried a YOU CAN'T TAKE IT WITH YOU musical?
Posted: 7/12/19 at 3:48pm