NY Voice Teachers

AndiV Profile Photo
AndiV
#0NY Voice Teachers
Posted: 4/1/05 at 12:54pm

Hi! I am somewhat new to NYC, and I am ready to find a voice teacher here. Hopefully the following "guidelines" will help in determining what I am looking for.

1. I've never studied voice before.
2. I'm not a legit singer (at least not at this point).
3. I'd love to expand my range, develop more confidence, learn more about breath support and make sure I'm not hurting myself. (is that a tall enough order?? ha ha!)
3. I'm willing to spend money on this, of course, but at this point, but I'm not looking for "Braodway's Best" teacher, either.

Specifically, I'd love any personal reccomendations of people you may have worked with, but good reputations would be helpful too. Just a starting point for me to research people.

Thank you so much for helping me!!!

So long status quo/ I think I just let go/ You make me want to be/ BRAVE

yodamarie78 Profile Photo
yodamarie78
#1re: NY Voice Teachers
Posted: 4/1/05 at 1:02pm

They teach private and group voice lessons at the 92nd St Y. I don't know much about how good they are as I do not have the money to do that right now. It's like $700 for 14 private lessons. Look at http://www.92y.org

AndiV Profile Photo
AndiV
#2re: NY Voice Teachers
Posted: 4/1/05 at 1:05pm

Thanks! I'll look into that...

Any other thoughts?

Craig Profile Photo
Craig
#3re: NY Voice Teachers
Posted: 4/1/05 at 1:06pm

http://www.lizcaplan.com - if not with her directly, you can study with her associates...

"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men" - Willy Wonka

AndiV Profile Photo
AndiV
#4re: NY Voice Teachers
Posted: 4/1/05 at 8:20pm

BUMP!

thanks to Craig and Yoda!

i know there is a wealth of knowledge on this board!

help !)

Adoannie925 Profile Photo
Adoannie925
#5re: NY Voice Teachers
Posted: 4/1/05 at 9:24pm

Check out NYU's vocal faculty (Steinhardt if you want classical training).

munkustrap178 Profile Photo
munkustrap178