pixeltracker

Weirdest Show ever done by a high school

Weirdest Show ever done by a high school

the-one-you-want
#0Weirdest Show ever done by a high school
Posted: 8/31/04 at 3:29am

Hey all
Just wondering--whats the weirdest (As in most adult, most sexual, most politcal, etc) show that you've either been in or seen done by a high school?
My school did brillant, weird art by Sondheim "Sunday in the park", "The Laramie Project",which I directed, not to stroke the ego...) and a string of one anti-war one acts two years ago. The year before we did "Master Harold and the boys", "A Shayna Madel" and "White Rose."
I just wonder because now, as a collegic theatrical (I love that term) I've meet tons of people who gasp at the idea of doing anything above "Guys and Dolls" (As much as I think it's adorable.) The most outrageous production I heard was my across the dorm hall homie; she was chorus for Lippa's version of "The Wild Party" as a senior. Wow.
Now, as a young artist, I think encouraging young students to reach for high forms of drama is very, very good for a community. I think by tackling some Sondheim, Miller and some Albee is a great way for young actors and directors to discover things about theatre. Sure, it can get bad ("City of Angels" by a junior high. Eeeeck.) but I've also expiernced wonderful, supeior productions of several plays by high schools.
Thoughts?
Gimme your thoughts!

Guido Contini Profile Photo
Guido Contini
#1re: Weirdest Show ever done by a high school
Posted: 8/31/04 at 3:38am

we did a production of the Lysistrata in high school...not a musical, i know...but for a small town of about 11000 it was a bit risky.