pixeltracker

How can you afford seeing so many shows (or the same show so many times)?

How can you afford seeing so many shows (or the same show so many times)?

dreaminaret Profile Photo
dreaminaret
#0How can you afford seeing so many shows (or the same show so many times)?
Posted: 1/22/06 at 3:27pm

Okay, I'll admit, that I have seen Rent 5 times since 2000, and 3 of those have been since August. And as soon as I win the lotto I will be seeing Spelling Bee for the 2nd time (though first was student advance).

I see all of these posts about people who saw Lennon 25 times and others who saw Spelling Bee 30 times and the like. I'm just wondering... HOW DO YOU AFFORD THIS? I'm not trying to be rude or anything, but I'm a F/T student and work over 35 hours a week between two jobs and could never imagine having the type of disposable income to see one show 2 dozen times even if I got Rush tix to each performance (or to see 24 different shows over the course of 3 months).

So I'm just wondering - how do you all afford this? And don't get me wrong... I think it's better to be spending like $1000 seeing the same show many times than spending it on cigarettes or drugs or something like that... so PLEASE don't take this the wrong way.

i grew up 13 miles north of bohemia and 31 miles northeast of hicksville.

Thesbijean
#1re: How can you afford seeing so many shows (or the same show so many times)?
Posted: 1/22/06 at 3:28pm

Well, my first thought is that people exaggerate. You see Lennon 4 times, and say, what the heck, it isn't doing well, I'll say I saw it 10 times, 15 times, etc...

Actually, that is my only thought.

LilBwayLady Profile Photo
LilBwayLady
#2re: How can you afford seeing so many shows (or the same show so many times)?
Posted: 1/22/06 at 3:34pm

Im wondering the same thing. If i had any extra money to spend it would always be on a musical but they are really expensive....how do you guys do it? Any secret discounts you would like to let me in on?