News on your favorite shows, specials & more!

Carrie Revival?

ncvalmont Profile Photo
ncvalmont
#75re: Carrie Revival?
Posted: 5/30/06 at 11:44pm

For a revival of Carrie to work so much would have to change, and honestly...it isn't really the music. I think that about 80 percent of it works. First...make it all sung. We don't need some of the bad dialoge. Next...let's not all get the idea that everyone has seen the movie or read the book. So, let's get a script that does a little more explaining on what is going on. OKay...let's not have Carrie make her clothes dance. I love the song and idea, but it made Carrie look like a two-bit magician. Cut or fix: Don't Waste the Moon. It really was Bye Bye Birdie gone bad. Also...fix the end. Don't have Carrie come home from the prom and bam!!! Dead!!! So much will need to be fixed, but i think it is a possibility. If i was a producer, which I'm not...I would go for smaller houses like Off-Broadway, or even regional theatre. That is where the audiences would be. Oh...I saw the show when it opened in NYC, and it wasn't that bad...it just wasn't that good...but I would love to see a future because what was good was good!

west end artist1 Profile Photo
west end artist1
#76re: Carrie Revival?
Posted: 5/31/06 at 2:39pm

i agree to an extent what your saying as in dont waste the moon def needed a face lift but im pretty sure they have done that(there is a lot of set nods etc in the script and its moved away from the silly abstract look and they are going for reality).As for the finale it does need changing(but carrie never went home in the 88 show in fact to this day knowone has any idea where the hell the ending happened ,big white staircase?)
I def dont think the show should be sung through that would be awfull and the new book is very good and smart.They have also addressed the point of thinking everyone had seen the film so carries powers are explained(she looks it up in the school libary)

Over the Moon Profile Photo