News on your favorite shows, specials & more!

9 to 5 Tour

advantages
#1759 to 5 Tour
Posted: 9/22/10 at 10:17pm

I was at opening night. It was a very cool experience, but I will say that I think the show needs some work. I've never done a review before, so I apoligize if this one is terrible.

About an hour before the show started, I got to the red carpet just to see if anyone famous showed up. There were about 75-100 of us watching. I only saw Dolly and Patricia Resnick, but I heard from other people that Naomi Judd and the Rascal Flatts were there as well.

But on to the show. The three leads are fantastic! Without them, I really think the show would have fallen apart. Diana stole the show for me, though. I thought her accent was a little strange at first, but it's not in an annoying way. And she can sing like crazy! Mamie was great too, and has a belt that I was not expecting. Dee was really good as well, I just thought her character was sort of boring.

I guess you want to know about the Dolly projection too? It was just there at the beginning and end, and was not annoying at all! I thought it was a really great touch. At the beginning all she did was introduce the characters and the situation, and at the end she told the audience what each of the characters did in the future.

The set was ok. Some parts were really cool, but at some points the stage looked really empty. I'm not really sure what else to say about it.

The choreography was just ok too. Some parts were good, but there were many points in the show (especially the group numbers) where everyone just stood on the stage and did their own thing.