Memphis or South Pacific

girlpowermch2
#1Memphis or South Pacific
Posted: 5/17/10 at 11:03pm

I am going to be in the city this weekend, and am seeing American Idiot on Friday and Next to Normal (again) on Saturday night.
I have the Saturday matinee slot open to see one other show, and was wondering if I should see Memphis before the Tonys or South Pacific before it closes.
I am a student, so Memphis would most likely be easier/cheaper to see.
I would still like opinions however.

ljay889 Profile Photo
ljay889
#2Memphis or South Pacific
Posted: 5/17/10 at 11:05pm

South Pacific all the way.

wickedfan Profile Photo
wickedfan
#2Memphis or South Pacific
Posted: 5/17/10 at 11:09pm

This shouldn't even be a question. But for you, and for anyone who ever asks:
South Pacific. South Pacific. South Pacific. South Pacific.

There's no better written musical on Broadway right now than South Pacific, and this is is a magical production. See it while you can.

"Sing the words, Patti!!!!" Stephen Sondheim to Patti LuPone.

frontrowcentre2 Profile Photo
frontrowcentre2
#3Memphis or South Pacific
Posted: 5/17/10 at 11:31pm

Agreed and even with replacements it is still the best revival on Broadway.

Why see NEXT TO NORMAL again when you could see another show that you haven't seen before? After all MEMPHIS is up for several Tony awards, and it just won the Outer Critics Circle Award so you KNOW to have won that it MUST be good [Sarcasm sign]

I liked MEMPHIS for what it was but it is not even in the same ballpark as SOUTH PACIFIC even after more than 60 years.

Cast albums are NOT "soundtracks."
Live theatre does not use a "soundtrack." If it did, it wouldn't be live theatre!

I host a weekly one-hour radio program featuring cast album selections as well as songs by cabaret, jazz and theatre artists. The program, FRONT ROW CENTRE is heard Sundays 9 to 10 am and also Saturdays from 8 to 9 am (eastern times) on www.proudfm.com

bjh2114 Profile Photo
bjh2114