pixeltracker

Musical theatre and Religous musicals.

Musical theatre and Religous musicals.

jakiboi
#1Musical theatre and Religous musicals.
Posted: 3/25/09 at 8:54am

Hey guys, i'm doing a musical theatre degree in England and im in my final year. As part of my degree i have to do an extended essay of my choice. I have decided to do my essay on musical theatre and religion, questioning whether certains shows are portrayed as blaphmous? whether they are gettin more controversial over the years. The main 3 i chose were Godspell, Jesus Christ Superstar and Jerry Springer the Opera..... If any one has any opinions on this matter i would but very greatful for any feed back and opinions to add in my essay! Thankyou!!!

BrodyFosse123 Profile Photo
BrodyFosse123
#2re: Musical theatre and Religous musicals.
Posted: 3/25/09 at 8:59am

CARRIE: The Musical

re: Musical theatre and Religous musicals.

ErinDillyFan Profile Photo
ErinDillyFan
#2re: Musical theatre and Religous musicals.
Posted: 3/25/09 at 9:10am

Depending on your position: Brigham!

There is a LP available starring Harve Presnell.

About the life of Brigham Young.

eatlasagna
#3re: Musical theatre and Religous musicals.
Posted: 3/25/09 at 12:50pm

Martin Guerre is a pretty religious heavy musical

Scarywarhol Profile Photo
Scarywarhol
#4re: Musical theatre and Religous musicals.
Posted: 3/25/09 at 1:02pm

Since there's no such thing as blasphemy, I can't really decide.

blaxx Profile Photo
blaxx
#5re: Musical theatre and Religous musicals.
Posted: 3/25/09 at 1:03pm

Beyond the Rainbow, although it's harder to find.

Part of the plot is of a priest who talks to God, and it is this God who tells him that he wouldn't never encourage celibacy.

Listen, I don't take my clothes off for anyone, even if it is "artistic". - JANICE
Updated On: 3/25/09 at 01:03 PM

TheatreDiva90016 Profile Photo
TheatreDiva90016
#6re: Musical theatre and Religous musicals.
Posted: 3/25/09 at 1:09pm

Nunsense.

Any of them.