pixeltracker

Two different productions of the same show on Broadway?

Two different productions of the same show on Broadway?

Theatrefanboy1
#1Two different productions of the same show on Broadway?
Posted: 10/13/23 at 10:52am

Has New York ever had two different productions of the same show play at the same time?   I was talking about the two sunset Boulevards one in the west end. And one in Australia coming up.  And I’m curious if Webber would ever approve of the two of them to transfer and play at the same time or near to the same time.  I know back in the day he had three different versions of JCS on the go. But those were all spread out a bit more.  And I know some shows like the glass menagerie have played up against each other pretty close.  Curious if there ever had been

berniesb!tch
#2Two different productions of the same show on Broadway?
Posted: 10/13/23 at 10:59am

I am no expert on rights and licensing, but I think having two different productions of the same show would not be able to happen at the same time in the same area on a Broadway level. I don't think the rights holder would allow that to happen - but I could be incorrect

QueenAlice Profile Photo
QueenAlice
#3Two different productions of the same show on Broadway?
Posted: 10/13/23 at 11:01am

As mentioned elsewhere,  the production of SUNSET BOULEVARD with Sarah Brightman is being produced by an Opera Company in Austrailia.  It is highly unlikely to have any kind of commercial transfer, because the way opera is produced is not compatible with commercial Broadway producing.

Its also highly unlikely that there would be two first class productions of a work under copyright presented at the same time in a major market city like New York.  That is what estates and rights holding is all about.